Organic Food or Processed Junk?

Photo Credit: piyoto

Matthew 15:17-20 (NASB)

Do you not understand that everything that goes into the mouth passes into the stomach, and is eliminated? But the things that proceed out of the mouth come from the heart, and those defile the man. For out of the heart come evil thoughts, murders, adulteries, fornications, thefts, false witness, slanders. These are the things which defile the man; but to eat with unwashed hands does not defile the man.

Are you very concerned that your baby drink from a sterilized bottle, eat from a very clean plate, filtered and boiled water? It is one thing to maintain good hygiene, but I do find that most parents overdo it in Singapore. For example, it is not necessary to sterilize milk bottles after every feed once baby starts to eat solids. Please don’t tell me that you sterilized the plates and spoons as well! It is rather odd to me that some parents would be giving baby only organic food but think nothing of giving baby Oreo cookies and sweets once they are a little older, just to pacify or bribe them. (Out of desperation I guess) It is very good if you are able to keep up with all that cleaning and buying of organic foods, but for me I think trying my best to prepare food from its raw form and avoid eating processed food as much as possible will suffice. I’m glad to say that my toddler, although sometimes passers-by or even relatives would comment that he is thin, he enjoys eating vegetables and fruits as much as he enjoys meat. Similarly I would just shrug it off when someone commented I should cook porridge instead of buying instant cereal to feed my little baby. Time and energy permitting, I would, but I am simply too tired. He will not die or suffer from malnutrition nor have lower IQ, will he? There are more important things than that. What do you say?

I do think that giving “the best” to my children’s souls – a Godly lifestyle (and praying very hard they choose to adopt it in the future) are more important than giving them the best food or sending them to the best schools. I also think that we should do more to “sterilize” what our children absorb daily in their minds rather than merely sterilizing milk bottles. Do we just pacify them with iPads, toys, games and cartoons or even children’s program, thereby encourage a life of indulgence, consumerism and materialism? Are we careful in how we speak to one another, and treat others (such as our domestic helpers), being role models to our children? How about watching out and correcting them quickly when we realize they learnt something that are not in line with our values from friends or even from teachers or grandparents?

Daddies Mommies, sterilize not only the milk bottles and clean not only their play mats and toys, but filter and sterilize what they are inculcating into their lives. They are building a lifetime of habits and values that will shape their character.

Meanwhile, I think it is ok to eat fried chicken sometimes and let the kid have a sweet or two. =)

Leave a Reply

