Time No Enough!

Photo Credit: Sheelamohan

Do you frequently feel you don’t have enough time to accomplish the things you need to do? Well, I do. I used to be one who often feel I don’t have enough time, yet when I do have some time, I feel strange without activities to fill my time. However, I always ended up having too many things on my plate and I can’t cope.

When I had my first child, I thought I would have a lot of free time to do many things. Maybe I could learn driving, take up some course, etc. Alas, I over-estimate myself. Childbirth is a very tiring thing and baby care was worse. Often I ended up sleeping before the baby when I was putting him to sleep.

When I finally stopped work, I thought I would be have the flexibility to do many other things at home. Maybe I could start a home business, work from home, teach part time or even take up Masters. Before I foolishly diverted my energy and time from the very things I gave up my job for (which is to build the home), DH wisely stopped me.

It took me a very long time to learn that, each of us only had 24 hours in a day. No more, no less. Somehow in my mind, I seem to always think I had 36 or 48. My varsity days were packed full of activities. I couldn’t believe I survived, at one point, joining 2 IVPs, 1 sub-committee, Campus Crusade for Christ, on top of the hall stuff, and yet study…I thank the Lord, it is by His grace that I managed to complete my studies and not have to stay back. What was I thinking at that time?!

God is very humorous. I married WM, and had the shock of my life. At one point I thought I married the slackest slacker in the world. He never seems to make his decision (well he does, just that I didn’t give him enough time. Before he can act, I acted on his behalf since I couldn’t bear to wait anymore) and he never seems to want to do ANYTHING (again, he actually does, just that he really takes his time to consider what he would like to do). Needless to say, we had lots of conflicts. He has since revved up his speed, and I have also slowed down very much. We are still learning. From all these, I learnt a very important lesson. I need only to do what God wants me to do! Now, how do I redeem, or make most of my time?

Ephesians 5:15-16 (NASB) Therefore be careful how you walk, not as unwise men but as wise, making the most of your time, because the days are evil

This is a very familiar verse. I had it memorized long ago. I thought I really must “make the most of my time” and it means accomplishing many things as I can. And so I hated to “waste” any minute of my time.

But opps, I missed out the last part. Why are the days evil? I believe there are just too many temptations drawing us away from doing what is really needed to do. Maybe that is why I’m trying so hard to be happy in my unhappiness! Yes, how evil!

Ephesians 5:17 (NASB) So then do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is

(emphasis mine) Ah…I memorized the verse but I do not know how to apply it because I read it out of context. The context is, to make the most of your time, you gotta understand what the will of the Lord is! Now wait a minute… how do you understand or even know what the will of the Lord is, although we are always admonished to do so? Read on!

Ephesians 5:18 (NASB) And do not get drunk with wine, for that is dissipation, but be filled with the Spirit

Therefore to know the will of the Lord, besides reading the Bible, you gotta be filled with the Holy Spirit! Ahem, yes, I know be filled with the Holy Spirit… If you believe in Christ the Lord, and confess it so, you have the Holy Spirit! But what about being filled? Is going to Holy Spirit Baptism sessions in church counted? Do you know God’s will after you’re “slain”? Now, read on again…

Ephesians 5:19-21 (NASB) Speaking to one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody with your heart to the Lord; always giving thanks for all things in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ to God, even the Father; and be subject to one another in the fear of Christ.

Ah…To be filled with the Spirit, is to speak edifying things to one another with your heart to the Lord, which I interpret as, to acknowledge God in everything. Being thankful (that’s the secret to being happy), and to subject to one another. I think it means, to esteem others better than yourself, value another’s opinion higher than yourself. It is a continuous, deliberate action, not a one time experience only.

So, whenever I feel overwhelmed with many things to do, I would ask myself, what does God wants me to do? God gave us all 24 hours a day. He didn’t give 36 or 48. Therefore 24 hours is definitely enough. Therefore I CAN accomplish all that I need to do in 1 day. If I am ever stressed out, it must be because I am setting my mind on things outside of God’s will. And the things I need to do are simply what God wants me to do. Hmm. So I only got myself to blame then, if I often say I’m worn out, stressed and unhappy (or even depressed…since stress leads to depression!). Oh my, why did I took so long to realize this? I even memorized the above verse long ago but it just didn’t click?! Well I’m sure glad it finally did.

To be good stewards of the time that God has given us, and not waste any time, we first have to know what His will for us is. I am convicted that God has called me to be the helper of my husband WM. That is the one and only calling God has for me. Yes, it is that simple. (But SO VERY HARD!) I am helping him when I manage the home and nurture (read: discipline) the children on his behalf and under his authority. What is yours? If you are a lady and is married, do you believe that is your calling too? I always try to remind myself that I am helping my husband run his home while I am bathing, feeding, changing the kids or simply cooking or washing. Do you have this attitude, even if you are working? WM has decided that I would be of greater help (read: value add) if I take care of the home front rather than bring back the bacon. I am so glad he thinks of it this way. I believe it was his personal journey of faith as well to trust God to provide for us. If one day WM needs my help to bring back the bacon, I will. For now, I am just going concentrate on building up the home. Perhaps one day, you will also take this leap of faith to be a SAHM, or allow your wife to be one. I would be very happy for you if you do! =)

What do you think your calling is? What is the life you’ve always wanted? Do you frequently feel like you are totally wasting your time on things you don’t want to do but yet you “have to do”? I hope you think real hard again how you’d like to lead your life. And I wish you happiness~!

One comment

  1. Pingback: Taking Public Transport, Toddler and Baby in Tow « blessed2bblessing

Leave a comment